Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Bicycle Races Are Coming Your Way

In anticipation of the Aviva Tour of Britain, the route is being marked with bicycles painted yellow. This particular bike will be passed on Thursday, 10th September.

I never thought how appropriate stopping and getting a photo of this bike would be. I had a job to do then after about an hour I was walking back towards this bike. Round the corner a family came cycling towards me and as I watched, the young boy became airborne and landed on the pavement.

I gasped and shouted to tell the father that his son had fallen. I needn't have, a moment later the loud cry could have been heard for miles! I started to run. "Don't worry, he's alive!" said dad. Being an ex-first aider as well as an ex-radiographer, I wanted to make sure all was well. It turned out that mum was an ex-nurse so the lad was in good hands.

Luckily the incident had happened only yards from a village shop where the mum got tissues and antiseptic. 

I chatted to pass the time for them while mum was at the shop. The family were on a Cycling Club holiday touring the area, based at Newton Rigg in Penrith. When they told me their route I was amazed how well the junior had done. By now he had stopped crying and was moving about OK so I went on my way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.