Through the Lens

I decided I’d get to the tram a bit earlier today in the hope of securing a seat; booger me, it was like the London underground. Students are back at the Edinburgh colleges, packing in with their glum uneducated faces and cramming the place with their earnest little backpacks. 

But to the blip, it was the day of the funeral of the father of one of my oldest (I mean in years of friendship) pals, which sadly I couldn’t attend. Back to Primary school we go. I don’t actually think I’ve any other photos of A apart from this - taken by her old Dad when we were in our early twenties. Funny to think of him looking through that viewfinder then. We’d briefly gone out for a few weeks in 4th year at High School but I was scared of the commitment and by the time I’d grown up a bit she was always dating someone else, because she was very lovely and bloody popular, I do suppose! Her old man always thought I was a decent catch though. He was still padding up and down the road at Currie recently, not looking so very different. I should have stopped to talk. But I didn’t and now I can’t. Thinking of you, A.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.