Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

A horrific day

It wasn't actually horrific but did have a bit of a horror theme back at the Fringe. 

After a long lay in again and caught up on my sleep and I then went into town to pick up some tickets before catching up with my friends Ann & Baxter for a drink. I didn't really spend much time on The Mile today so I've only got a couple poor quality photos I managed to get at the start of a couple today's shows.

Four shows today :-

"I am Beast" : This was a very well done play about a teenage girl coping with the loss of her mother by going into her own fantasy world where she is a super hero sidekick trying to rescue her super hero friend (her mother) from the evil Doctor Oblivion (her father) and his assistant (the father's new "girlfriend") but there is a "beast" lurking. This was very well done going between her real life and the fantasy world, the "beast" was a full man-sized puppet (controlled by three puppeteers). 

"Ria Lina: Taboo Raider" : I met up with Ann & Baxter for this show (it was actually Baxter's recommendation that prompted me to buy a ticket, although I didn't know they had tickets for today's show). It's a one woman stand up comedy show where Ria talks about social taboos, it was funny and I was laughing through-out the show with very little let up for the entire hour, a little edgy at times but not too extreme.

"HP Lovecraft's The Statement of Randolph Carter" : This was a dramatised reading of two of H.P. Lovecraft's works, "The statement of Randolph Carter" and "The Temple". It was very well done with appropriate lighting and some clever live "foley" sound effects. The "actors" doing the reading were very effective in evoking the right atmosphere. I've got three books of Lovecraft stories which I believe covers all his works and they do include "The Temple" although I do not remember it so I particularly enjoyed hearing it. 

"Fourth Monkey's Grimm Tales: The Bloody Countess" : To end the evening a bit more horror, this time of a more bloody nature. The Fourth Monkey production team are doing a number of plays including "Hansel & Gretal", "Little Red Cap", "Rapunzel" as well as "Bloody Countess". I assumed this was another of Grimm's Fairy Tales but it apparently based on a real person, Countess Elizabeth Báthory de Ecsed, who lived between 1560 and 1614 in Hungary and is believed to have murdered 650 young woman. It was a really good show, very dramatic and the brutality and horror of her story came over very well.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.