Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

It looks like a sewing machine...

But it sounds like a combine harvester and it's giving me grey hairs. I've been in battle with it most of the day... it's looping the thread so I either had to make it sew very, very fast or sew with one finger on the bobbin and the other hand guiding the fabric right, or have a seam that looks more like a birds nest than what it should look like.
Now I'm taking a break and colouring the fabric instead. First time for me, colouring fabric so I'm a bit nervous now (eating dry roasted peanuts not good for my figure) while the washing machine and the colours are doing their thing. It can go either way, I guess, either be fantastic or look really weird. The colour is for cotton and one of the fabrics I'm not really sure if it's just cotton or something more. I put a pair of jeans in with the fabric to and I hope they are cotton also... Luckily I have a plan B, just in case. I don't know why I bother so much with clothes for Midsummer. I mean, we are going to be (at the most wonderful place on earth) in the middle of no were, on a mountain pasture with no electricity and no running water indoors. We do have cooking possibility, an open fireplace and lots of candles for lighting in the evening, a stunning view over a woodland lake and silence.

I took a sneak peak into the washing machine and, well, everything looks like darker colour except for the cotton lace, it's still white! And it isn't suppose to be that... I'll just have to wait and see. And now a friend told me that I could have solved that if I had washed the lace first... Not my day today! Sigh!
The photo is the before and after of colouring that fabric. The finish colour is a bit more bluish than in the photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.