TINY TUESDAY - NOT ONLY, BUT ALSO!

I wasn’t sure what I would blip today but once I got out into the garden, and 50 photographs later, it was difficult to choose just one!

However, when I looked at this little butternut squash bud, which is about 20 mm from top to bottom, on the computer, I realised that there was also a tiny bug too, so I think they both qualify for Tiny Tuesday.  

The plant has grown so much  (remember the tendril I took on 4th August) but Mr. HCB is concerned that because the weather is not that good, there won’t be many squashes on the plant, and thinks that perhaps next year, he needs to get them in earlier.  As he said to me, “That’s one of the things with gardening, you live and you learn from year to year.”

It’s dull and quite a chilly day today but after yesterday’s torrential rain, we are thankful that it isn’t raining - yet!  Lots of gardeners we meet seems to say that their tomatoes are not ripening and their beans haven’t set, but Mr. HCB picked lots of beans, peas, courgettes, blackberries, raspberries and blueberries this morning, plus a few tomatoes, so we must be thankful for what we have rather than hankering after what might be, and perhaps we might even get one butternut squash!

I also liked the tiny runner bean, which I have put in my extra photographs - and you will see the flower “hanging by a thread”.  

“August rain: 
     the best of the summer gone, 
          and the new fall not yet born. 
The odd uneven time.” 
Sylvia Plath

P.S.  A HUGE THANK YOU to everyone for your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s blip - both Mr. HCB and I were overwhelmed and although I don’t usually mention the “Popular” page, it is good to see that the joint effort has got us to number 9!  Mr. HCB is now considering a new modelling career, and failing that, is wondering which circus to join!  Watch this space. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.