RSD Photo's SoCal Life

By rsdphotography

Sport Of Kings

From one sporting event to another, that is the life when in southern California. My sister and her husband were visiting San Diego from Kentucky. Being from the land of thoroughbreds, they are avid race fans and we decided to meet up with them at Del Mar Race Track. It was the last day with my borrowed gear, so I was excited to capture some horse racing action. We had great seats thanks to my sister, but I was told I couldn't shoot during the actual races (I think my monstrous 200-400mm made me look too much like I might be selling images). I assumed that ban only applied to shots from the stands with my big lens, so I went down track side to get something obtainable with more normal equipment. Lucky for me the next race was on the turf, directly in front of where I was standing, and I could experiment with a variety of shutter speeds as the horses charged to the finish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.