kwchas

By kwchas

Snowdon

After postponing a trip up Snowdon with my nephew a few weeks ago we finally got to the top today. 

After leaving the car in Llanberis we caught the bus to Pen Y Pass and took the Pyg Track to the top which took us two and a half hours. After 45 minutes at the top we descended on the Llanberis path which is a longer path but doesn't involve any scrambling and we got down in around two and a quarter hours. In total we walked around 8.5 miles. For anyone trying it I would recommend taking a similar route. I wouldn't fancy walking up the Llanberis route as it just looked a slog but it wasn't a bad route down because it was easy to pick your way on the path. The Pyg Track is the shortest route to the top and although there was a bit of scrambling it was an interesting walk and not too tricky.

Both paths were extremely busy with loads of families and dogs. Today's blip was taken at the top where there was a queue to get to the trig point. I took this one with my iPhone so its not the best quality but I thought it nicely summed up how busy it was. There were no views from the top because it was in mist for the last 500ft hence the lack of any stunning view pictures.

Apologies for getting behind with responding to comments and looking at your blips but I will try to catch up tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.