CVB Photos

By cvbphotos

Ride with the wind

A cycle ride event was arranged yesterday at Whitelee Wind Farm to the south of Glasgow. I packed my new bike into the car and headed off there but just as I arrived, the heavens opened. You couldn't even see the blades on the turbines because of low cloud!

The more that I take part in events, the more I realise that there are certain key words that give the novice cyclist a clue. Last year I didn't think anything of the word "Challenge" but it turns out to mean a full-tilt no-mercy road race. At Whitelee, the guy mentioned casually that we would cycle to the "Viewpoint" and this, I've discovered, means that hills are a definite feature.

By the time I reached the viewpoint with three other nutters hardy souls, I was soaked through and hill-walking with a bike!.

For all cyclists though, I can recommend it - there are tracks suitable for touring and mountain bikes and more development is being planned.

Also - see this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.