Hanullis

By Hanulli

Hornet

While I was on fotosafari in our garden my husband summoned me - he had found a very big and rare wasp on our way.
And realy there was a beautiful, giant but disoriented "wasp".
You can see it on the first extra, it has a beautiful brown- yellow design.
I decided to set it back into the plants, perhaps it would recover.
There I got the second extra, an impressive portrait.
But I still wanted to show the size of the "wasp". So I asked my Hanulli to take his camera and come with me. He was brave but very scared.
My Hanulliman is 20 mm/ 0,8 inches high and his camera is 7mm /0,26 inches long. So you can imagine, how big the aminal was.

During my research in the internet I learned that it was a Hornet (Vespa grabro). I'm glad that I did't know this, I wouldn't have gone so close :-D

Addendum 1: It was a difficult decission which foto would go into the start position - every member of the family had his own favourite...
Addendum 2: When I looked back to the hornet a half hour later, it was gone, perhaps recovered....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.