Shabby Monarch

I went out this afternoon intending to take a wide angle shot of part of our coastline that had taken my eye. Unfortunately the wind had started up and was ruffling the water, spoiling the scene I had hoped for.

I was on the way back to the car when I spotted a flash of orange in the tree lupins beside the path. It was the tattiest monarch butterfly I have ever seen. His wings were scratched and worn with a large piece torn out and just hanging as a flap.  However, he seemed in good spirits and was feeding greedily in the flowers - along with about a million bees.

With the wind blowing the tree lupins and the butterfly quivering, it was very hard to get a sharp shot. This was about the best I could do.

I have posted an extra showing the very torn wing on his left side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.