more sort of off-round

The most recent hub I dismantled prior to this one contained several ball bearings fewer than a full race and a lots of thick paste formed from old grease, dust and lots of teeny pieces of the missing balls. This one contained a few fewer whole balls than required, some relatively clean grease and a few largish chunks of balls like that pictured and the corresponding remaining chunk, which seem to indicate that the central core of the balls are much harder than the outer mantle and crust, which seems odd. I eventually found the Jiffy bag of nails-quality balls I bought to re-fill the hubs on my sparebike (which I haven't done yet) but they were slightly too large. I also needed a new flanged ball-retaining thing to replace the cracked one in the background and managed to find something which will do for now in the Bike Station but which will require further poking now that the broken bit has been extracted and cleaned and can be dangled in front of the tray of flanged cone-retaining nut things for comparison.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.