New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Hrafnabjargafoss waterfall

My husband took the day off from work and I desperately wanted to "catch the day", despite my fibromyalgia giving me a hard time. So I took a double dose of painkillers and off we went to the highland. First we drove to Laugafell. It's about 2,5 hours drive from Akureyri, and the road is only passable on a 4x4 car. In Laugafell there's a geothermal hot spring where it's possible to bathe, but we didn't fancy that this time around, as it was rather cold outside. Despite the thermometer's declared 13°C, I was freezing after we had some tea and sandwiches while sitting outside. 
Afterwards we continued our drive and only made some short photo stops until we reached Hrafnabjargafoss waterfall in Bárðardalur. I believe that took us about 2 hours. By then the weather was much better, and we relaxed by the waterfall for a good hour, taking pictures and enjoying the view. We were the only people there, and that's always an advantage ;-) 
Close by is another astonishing waterfall, Aldeyjarfoss, but we let that one be this time around, as we've been there before, and I was getting rather tired. So we drove home to Akureyri and arrived around dinner time. As it happened we had some delicious leftovers of a chicken soup that awaited us, and after a long hot bath, I enjoyed the soup very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.