Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Eye of the Wind

At lunchtime today, I gazed out of my window, across the forth towards Berwick Law and noticed an unusual shape over towards the far side.

Through binoculars, I could just make out that it was a tall ship.

I then tried my camera on full zoom (840mm equiv.) with 2.7X digital zoom on top of that (2268mm equiv) and captured the above image.
The distance to the far shore is 13 miles so this vessel is about 5 miles away.  I'm surprised that it came out as well as it has.
I am posting it for interest's sake so please ignore the lack of quality.

I recognised it as a square rigged brig and wondered if it was the same one that was used on the filmset of 'Outlander' earlier this year. Internet to the rescue.  It turned out to be a different ship. This one is called 'Eye of the Wind'.


Also of interest in the Forth today was an oil drilling platform being towed in accompanied by 3 tugs. It has now been parked just off Burntisland. There is obviously a downturn in the oil industry as this is now the third one to be brought in.  The other two are off Leven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.