Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Soutra Aisle

Sunday morning's bike ride was a tad more challenging than expected. I'm sure the forecast said there would be light winds. I planned a anti-clockwise route to take account of the easterly wind.

The ride out was ok through Auchendinny and Howgate was ok, but I could feel the breeze was a tad stronger than expected. Once I turned on the Top Gear road, the wind was in my face. As I head east to Middleton, loads of cyclists seem to be heading in the reverse direction, smiling at the ease of their morning ride. That does mean the climb up the Granites Road is easy.It heads west before turning south to head for Innerleithen.

I turn off on to the Heriot road. It is muddy from last night's rain. The trees that give me shelter from the wind mean the sun doesn't reach the road surface.

At the A7, I head south for a mile and a bit to access the B6368. From this side, there is a long gradual climb. At the top is Soutra Aisle, picture above. The building is the only remaining part of a hospital and friary. The hospital was founded in 1164, and was the largest medieval hospital in Scotland.

There is a short sharp descent from here to the A68, where I nearly get blown off my bike. The A68 is quiet, and it is easy enough to turn on to the Haddington Road. I now have to contend with a strong sidewind and gravel left on the road from last night's heavy rain. Very interesting.

Once I get to Humbie, the road is more sheltered and the road less gravelly. I follow the B6368 to the B6355, where I stop to have a quick bite to eat.

At last I have the wind on my back. It doesn't take very long to get to East Saltoun, and I take a back road to the B6371. Its great to cycle down to Dalkeith,  along a small A road, the Fordel Dean climb and then the old A68. Dalkeith is busy, and I get caught at a few red lights, but its not too bad, and I get around Eskbank without much bother. Loads of traffic at Dobbies, going in the opposite direction. As I pass over the Edinburgh bypass, I notice why, traffic is travelling even slower on the bypass.

Nearly home now. A fast ride through Gilmerton and the last climb passing the Braid Hills means I cover just over 105km.

Afternoon is spent in Morningside. Coffee and cake is most welcome. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.