Ancient And Modern

I went to Bradwell-on-Sea marina this morning to an event in remembrance of those crew from RAF Bradwell Bay who were lost during World War Two. 

I waited for ages with my camera at the ready hoping to get a shot of an MTB leaving the marina to disperse poppies. Motor Torpedo Boats were made at the boatyard in my home village during the war and I was looking forward to seeing one. No sign of it. :( 

It's a mad, mad, mad, mad world. We only knew what had happened when someone in the crowd accessed Facebook. (I am not on there.) The poppies had been scattered in the river by an ordinary craft as it was too windy for the MTB. The organisers had done the deed complete with a bugler playing The Last Post. Never mind that none of the waiting crowd had seen or been informed. As long as it's on FB that's all that seems to matter. :rolleyes:

The Spitfire and Hurricane did fly past a couple of times but weren't close enough for decent pics.

I decided to go for a walk to the ancient Chapel of St Peter-on-the-Wall and was delighted to see red, white and blue smoke trails in the sky. It was the Red Arrows displaying at the Clacton Airshow, miles away (I think about 12) in the distance across the water.

A man passed me on the path saying that he was hoping to see the Vulcan. I caught up with him by the chapel and we had a lovely chat until, sure enough, the awesome Vulcan came into view. I haven't seen it since the seventies when we used to holiday in Cornwall and it was based at Culdrose. I'll probably never see the magnificent machine in the air again as it is being grounded at the end of the season. :( (I got lots of shots but they're not Blipworthy as the plane was too far away.) 
    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.