Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Tall ...

It's not often we see hugely tall cranes in Dunoon, but this one is lifting lumps of wood into place on a horribly awkward site on Argyll Street, where an unfeasible number of affordable houses is being built. The site itself is on the side of the hill on which our own house stands, and the first batch of houses is at the bottom of the slope, hard against the pavement of the main road. I'm just glad I don't live in the house adjoining the site.

On a more compassionate note, if you like - I think that outdoor work on a building site must be murder in our climate. Today's rain was intermittent but awful, and I can't imagine what it does to the half-constructed houses and all that wood in the framework with no roof - to say nothing of the mud.

A hectic day rushing from one place to another means this was my only photo of the day, taken first thing in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.