Salubrious

The weather a treat again and due to stay with us right through the weekend.

Set about trying to finish off some of the tasks that were started in Autumn last year. Having wire brushed a metal horse field gate, Angie luckily volunteered to paint it, not an easy job as much of it is wire mesh. However, she did an excellent job. In the meantime, I failed miserably at trying to get my tipper trailer done. Perhaps stupidly I had left the tipper for many months in the "tip" position and now it will only go half way down. Suspect some of the seals may have been damaged. Will have to ask someone for help. Cost me hours and I couldn't finish the wire brushing.

Hot & sticky after all that ended up by throwing myself in the pool in the evening and then enjoying a beer. A new beer I had never tried, an unfiltered Pils from Schwaben Bräu. Schwaben or Swabia is our part of the world but this brewery is in Baden Wurttemberg Swabia, not Bavaria.

Another brewery about 30km from here, also in the neighbouring state was ordered today by a court ruling to stop using the word "Salubrious" or wholesome/digestible in connection with their beer. Causing uproar. I wonder if the ruling will be applicable in Bavaria where beer is still, at least in folklore, considered to be liquid bread and an essential foodstuff.  You can buy good beer for 0.70 Euros a litre (or kilo) - try getting a kilo of bread for that price!

The Blip originated in the continuing Twitter weather saga. I am now giving up as I simply don't understand the workings of Twitter. So handing over my duties as local weather observer to the Ottobeuren market square webcam. Pedros Ice Cream Parlour is on the far left and the tables/umbrellas on the bottom left half of the square. On the right the Hotel Hirsch with its microbrewery and outside tables on the right side of the square. These should give Nogbad & Co enough insight into how warm it is here. Have to give Ottobeuren another pat on the back - this week they started free Wi-Fi internet access for the whole market square area.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.