Life@theTop

By irunlykagirl

Flower Friday

drat. It's the wrong image.  I want to change it to the one i wanted to post - but that would defy the rule I set myself. 

A break in the weather ever so briefly today gave me a chance to find my flower for Friday. He looks in pretty good shape all things considered & having survived the 426mm of rain we have had so far this month...that earns him the honor of being todays subject. It then started to rain again after lunch...

edit:
i read somewhere it is not a flower for Friday...so i went searching... Turns out the dandelions flower, then the heads mature into these spherical seed heads called blowballs,  containing many single-seeded fruits called achenes. Each achene is attached to a pappus of fine hairs, which enable wind-aided dispersal over long distances.
Thus flower it is not. The taraxacum is just trying to spread its wings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.