Wild Turkeys

It is occasionally my custom to take a backroad or two on my drive to work. It was a beautiful morning and I had the feeling that there was something neat out there waiting for me. The photographer's endless optimism!

This is a pretty little road called Loveville Road. You've seen this road before, as it goes past the burnt cabin I have photographed on an occasion or two or three. The road also runs past a farm property with cows, where the light can be very lovely in the mornings.

But before I got to any of that, I rounded the corner and there, standing on the road, were two turkeys. I believe the taller one to be a turkey tom, or gobbler; and the smaller one to be a female, or hen. There was no traffic, so I pulled to a stop and took numerous photos.  Who knew I'd start my day with a couple of shots of wild turkey before breakfast?!

The soundtrack to accompany this image is a tune called Turkey in the Straw. It's a favorite among banjo and fiddle and dulcimer players, and is one of the oldest American folk songs. It's a sprightly little tune and I'm including two versions. The first is by Bill Monroe and Doc Watson. The second is by Cousin Emmy, from Pete Seeger's Rainbow Quest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.