Thermos

OK, so after a morning at work I had to take The Guest into town for a bit of cultural education - a bunch of free spoken word stuff at the BBC tent featuring Luke Wright, Deanna Rodger, Jenny Lindsay and Toby Campion - all excellent. I then sent him and the other grown-up in the house to go and see my favourite show of the festival so far, the aforementioned Mr Wright's theatre piece, What I Learned From Johnny Bevan at Summerhall. I thought it was particularly appropriate seeing as how Our Young Guest is starting university in a couple of weeks and that's one of the themes of the play as well, plus I recommended that it was best to sit in the front row for maximum intensity which they did. Me and the girls hung out in the cafe and dodged the showers over at that big Meadows playground before all hooking up after the show for tea out at the new Illegal Jacks - where we really seemed to flummox them with five people all wanting to order at the same time at the counter and then sit down at a table to actually eat our food. Food itself was good but the place definitely had a bit of a 'just opened' feel to it. A little more work to be done there I feel!

Anyways, The Guest chose the evening's entertainment and, eschewing the various Edinburgh festivals completely, me and him went off for a, ahem, 'gangsta' evening at the flicks. We were both thoroughly entertained. And then had plenty of musical chatter in the bar afterwards.

A Song By A Different Band But It Does Appear In The Movie So I'm Having It

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.