Footprint

By littleblips

In the Company of Chairs

This is the cafe at my favourite venue in Canberra. The food and coffee is great, but the library itself is the stunner. The brain almost explodes at the possibilities this place facilitates. 

The National Library of Australia is the largest library in the Southern Hemisphere, I am told (with over 10 million items). As a non-lending library, its digital collections exceed 3 petabytes! Until today, I did not know that the National Library is currently filling its storage space in the suburb of Hume. So I assume that when you order your item from the stacks, there's a continual shuttle service from Hume to the Library to get it to you in the designated 45 minutes!

They've moved the newspaper reading room upstairs and the angled newspaper tables have gone. Very sad. I loved to mark papers at those tables. I wonder if they have them in storage in one of their five buildings. I wonder if they'd sell me one... 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.