Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Exhausting

longest trip ever
to get here
now for the weekend

Eight hours! Eight bloody hours for a measly 500 km trip! And not many cars on the road, either... What happened, you might ask (and even if you don't I'll tell you anyway).

Well, yesterday I told you that the car was out of the garage after passing its MOT with flying colours; midway to Brittany it wouldn't go faster than 60 km per hour... We arrived at 3.30 am.

I brought the car to the local garage first thing in the morning. Apparently the exhaust is blocked, the fumes get out of the engine any old way they find and the engine went into safety mode, reducing the speed.

They didn't have a new pipe; they ordered it and will put it in on Monday. Until then, reduced use of the car is advised. Just as well we'd only planned on going to the crêperie tonight. Also, they'll lend me a car for the day on Monday so we are trying to enjoy the weekend as planned.

We just watched Betty by Claude Chabrol. What a good film again.

Communication with this gent was not easy, but he was jolly enough while I was taking the photo that I don't have a problem posting it.

Have a good Saturday evening - did I mention we're going to eat crêpes?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.