To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Unmistakably Black

We went to a local butterfly sanctuary for a little 'time out' this afternoon. While one might think this is a black swallowtail, it is a male scarlet swallowtail butterfly. The female has the red markings that give it its name.

There's no mistaking, however, a black Sharpie marker and the havoc that ensues when left in the presence of an unsupervised child. We now have intricate new designs on our bed, the carpet, a bath towel, the window, the television, the wall, an antique chest of drawers, and my daughter's face.

My daughter had her time out sans writing implement in her room. The butterfly sanctuary was a time out for me.




I chose the black butterfly because it seemed so unusual (and it kind of fit my mood). Here are others I considered:
Mates
Chinese Swallowtail
Not Black

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.