CBLinks

By gallusboy

John

On Friday I travelled down to Edinburgh to meet up with one of my former pupils, John, who was appearing in a show at the Pleasance Courtyard entitled "The Titanic Orchestra".

Firstly, on arrival in the capital I met up with my nephew during his lunch hour, he is manager of the Men's Department in Harvey Nichols. It was great to see him and catch up with family matters and get some much needed fashion tips (not!).! It was his parents and niece and nephew who had visited us last week.

Then it was time for a little bit of sightseeing. I can never resist a walk up Calton Hill to see the wonderful views around the city. Without undue delay I headed over to the Royal Mile and managed to bodyswerve lots of folks looking to give me flyers for their shows.

It was such a colourful scene with so much to see and photograph but I didn't linger long and was soon on my way down the High Street to the Scottish Parliament, Dynamic. Earth, the Queen's Gallery and a respite from the crowds.

From there I made my way to the theatre for the show. The courtyard was hoachin' with people there for a variety of shows and to enjoy the food and drink on sale from the many tented stalls and bars.

I joined the long queue waiting for admission and then took my seat for the performance. The show has been a sell-out every day in spite of mixed reviews, mostly negative. The actors were highly praised but the play, a quirky existential (whatever that is?) comedy written by the celebrated Bulgarian playwright Hristo Boytchev, was not maybe some of its appeal was lost in translation!

It's attraction was possibly due to the involvement of Scottish actor John Hannah, who was appearing at Fringe for the first time for some 25 years. I was fearing the worst but in fact I found myself really enjoying the play. Some (much?) of it might have gone over my head but I smiled, if not laughed, a lot.

I may be a little biased but I thought that my former pupil was a star!

The image I have posted is of the two of us meeting up after the show ... I am the one on the left of John or the right as you look at it!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.