Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Precision....

The days are getting shorter and my time with the hummingbirds is drawing to an end for this year...which made choosing a blip subject pretty easy.  Choosing just one photo, however, was a bit more difficult and I was torn between this shot and this one.  I think both convey the sense of purpose these tiny flyers have when it comes to food, as well as their grace and agility in eating on the wing. 

A juvenile male I've not seen before showed up this morning and he had more red gorget feathers than I have ever seen on a youngster!  If you'd like to see him, click here for eye popping red.

Had a nice, long chat with my parents this morning, then pottered around the garden a bit. Found some more newly "emerged" monarch caterpillars as well as a few more eggs that are going to probably "hatch" today.  I will try to consolidate them on one plant which I will cover with a mesh laundry hamper.  Still loads of assassin bugs paroling the garden, so the tiny butterfly larvae won't be safe unless I cover them.  

Monarch Diaries:  Cat # 3 is at least 1.5 inches long now and I expect he will go to crysalis within the upcoming week.  I've got some sticks in the enclosure so he'll have somewhere to hang while he transforms.  He's a regular little pooping machine now - I line the enclosure with paper towels which I've been changing every morning, but based on # 3's "leavings", I am going to have to change it before bed tonight too.  A monarch mom's work is never done... 

 Thank you for sending yesterday's hummie to the front page of Pops - I'm sure he'd be chuffed if he knew...

TTFN

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.