Peahen

By Peahen

Gig!

A lot has happened since the last time I played an instrument (clarinet) in public. I turned old enough to drink and vote, got my degree, watched the date change from one millennium to the next, travelled the world, got married and had a child, learned to drive, was made redundant three times, took up photography and started studying again... The internet came into use, phones went mobile, ceefax was switched off. Oh, and I stopped playing for years, then restarted on tenor sax.

I was nervous. Nerves which were slightly eased by the (sad) fact that we were not being paid for the roughly hour long set, and also by the fact that this deep into the school holidays even a solo hour of hang-gliding would have been quite an attractive proposition. So we'll gloss over the drizzle for the rest of the day, the morning spent shedding and finding two good reeds, the ironing, the finding of PE kit and all the other admin that needs to be squeezed in before school starts. At least one stranger liked my playing enough to tell me so in the carpark, I'll take that. It was good to play with two musicians from the regular jam session, and to learn that one of them used to work with a very good friend. Looking forward to more. Now, however, I need to order a new tuner.

Blip is a sign from the pub that made me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.