Norm

By Norm

Up Close with the Combine

A tedious day spent mainly at the doctor's after I called 111 about my poorly arm (blood test gone very wrong, huge bruise which developed an infection, ick!). Lots of waiting around, first at the doc's and then at the pharmacy to collect my antibiotics. Ted was incredible, so patient and sweet. I treated us both to an ice-cream at a local farm shop.

Anyway, when we finally got home we headed straight out for some fresh air. The sounds of combining were tormenting us as we walked round the village (it's so hard to tell where the noise is coming from as it bounces off the valley sides) but then we saw the plume of dust and headed up a farm track until we saw this beast! We watched as it completed harvesting one field, then followed it into another field and got started there. The driver waved at us which thrilled Ted and amused me - they must be used to having an audience of small boys in our village! Seconds after I took this we were enveloped in a cloud of dust and straw which was very funny. Straight home I to a bath for Ted - who was also covered in blackberry juice as we'd been snacking from the hedgerows while we watched the harvest. Country life at its best!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.