Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Amazing Girl

Last year I rode from London to Cambridge for Breast Cancer Research, then earlier in the year my friend Kate visited us and that lead to a conversation about breast cancer with Carys. She decided after that conversation that she wanted to do something. These are her words from her Justgiving page:

"One of my Mummy's lovely friends, Kate, has breast cancer. You wouldn't know she is ill to look at her or when you are with her. Kate is happy and funny and kind and clever. But the breast cancer she was diagnosed with is called secondary breast cancer, this means she can't be cured. I want to raise money for research into treatment for ladies like Kate with secondary breast cancer, so that one day they can be cured. Please can you help me do this by sponsoring me to ride 29miles from London to Windsor. "
She has had £437 worth of sponsorship on justgiving and today was the day to do her ride.

To say I am proud of her is an understatement, she rode on roads way busier than she is used to, was polite and friendly the whole way and didn't complain once (well ok once, on a very steep and long hill). She is already plotting her next ride, although the next won't be for charity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.