Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Does It Fool You? Bee? Wasp? or Hoverfly?

I always tell people that one way to tell a hoverfly from a wasp/bee is that hoverflies have short antennae. However, this genus has much longer than usual antennae (but still shorter than a bee/wasp).

I also say that bees/wasps have two pairs of wings and (hover)flies have only one pair. Instead of the second pair of wings, they have a pair of balancing organs called haltares. They are clearly visible in this individual, particularly the one on the left - small yellow ball on a stalk close to the rear of the thorax.

Hoverflies also have characteristically large eyes that almost meet on the top of their head.

This species of hoverfly has no common name so can only be identified as Chrysotoxum bicinctum.

I'm posting it because it is the first time I have photographed one. It was further away than I would have liked and required a big crop to home in on it.  Consequently not as sharp as I would have liked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.