MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Última Aula

Today I gave my last LCA class here, and I will miss it. I think I'm getting more and more excited to teach now that I have some lessons all planned out. I feel like I've learned a lot about teaching through this brief experience, and I've even learned a lot more about my own research and the tools I use by preparing for my classes. These are my students (sans 1), and they were really great kids! I was that horrible TA who can't speak your language very well, but they were really tolerant and maintained an intense curiosity that doesn't exist in the same way in the States.

I don't know if it's fair to say it doesn't exist, but these kids asked a LOT of questions. Sometimes it would be a little annoying, like "if you just wait 5 minutes, we will cover this exact topic in the presentation!" But in the States it was difficult to get participation of any sort. (I, again, don't have a large sample size to pull from, having only taught portions of a handful of courses, but this is my general perception.) I hope they learned something! Which reminds me- I have to put together my end-of-course survey to see if they did! :P They still have two weeks before their final presentations/projects are due, but I, alas!, must return to the States before then. :(

Until next time, Brazilian students!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.