Damask from Damascus!

The real McCoy, or rather it's the real Damask!

Ironing, very carefullyl, this gold embroidered tablecloth always reminds me of where I got it and the generosity of Arabs.

When I was teaching Telecomms Engineers from Palmyra Telecommunication in Syria the Managing Director, Nazir Tadmori, took me down town in Damascus and bought me two beautifully embroidered Damask tablecoths with napkins as a present for Marlane.
He also bought me a large backgammon set which was inlaid with mother of pearl to take home for Daniel, our son. An incredibly generous man who I learned last year had passed away.
We are still using the tablecloths on special days and Father's day appears to have fitted the bill.

Where I marked it on today's map is not where it was taken but where the cloth was bought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.