From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

A spectacular Culzean / Armed Forces Day

Today was a day which was even better than planned. The weather was great which was unusual.

I couldn't persuade mom to accompany me and it was probably just as well as she might have been a bit tearful.

I walked up to the bus station and caught the bus to Culzean Castle as although I had been before, it was after a 4 hour walk getting lost and I wasn't in the mood when I got there! This time I planned to ask the driver to shout me when it was time to get off... No need though as there were a load of Spanish students getting on and they were all going to Culzean. I just enjoyed the bus journey admiring the views and the country roads. We all piled off the bus with the driver shouting the bus times back to Ayr which were only every two hours on a Sunday. Everyone disappeared in different directions as you are at the start of a massive country park and there are meandering paths everywhere.

I took the shortest most direct one which was still a mainly uphill dawdle of half an hour but I stopped to take pictures of Ailsa Craig which was glowing in a sparkling sea to my right. I was amazed to hear bag pipes and occasional gunfire as I got closer!

When I rounded the final bend, I realised what was going on. The big field to the side of the castle was full of tents and people in military uniforms everywhere amongst the trucks and jeeps. There were mock battles going on too. It was almost 100 years since the start of the First World War and today's event was part of Armed Forces Day. A Royal Navy rescue helicopter flew over while I stood there drowning out all the announcements.

On the way out of the field, I found the birds of prey stall where hawks and owls were looking around at interested passers by. I spent ages there!

The castle itself isn't wildly exciting inside and there are only a few rooms viewable but the sea views from all the windows were marvellous. The best thing about Culzean is the magnificent gardens and wonderful parkland. There was too much to see and it was soon time to set off back to the bus stop. I did get to watch the marching pipe bands in their kilts before I went which was very emotive and I must admit I felt a bit teary. I nodded off on the bus back to Ayr! All that fresh air, long walks and an overload of beautiful scenery and interesting things had worn me out. I was certainly ready for my steak dinner when I got back home!

It was really difficult to decide which picture to use. All the others are here - Culzean Castle and Armed Forces Day

Track? It really was a glorious day with non-stop sunshine so here's Bill Withers for you - Lovely Day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.