Wearing purple...

By 60plus

MonoMonday: secret

Long, long ago, when I was at Carnegie College doing a PCGE year in PE, my friend and I secretly put our hand-drawn Snoopy cartoons on the PE noticeboard. Carnegie was rather stuffy & regimented after three years at our various Universities, and it was our little bit of undergraduate humour, featuring our 'Negie lecturers in various athletic pursuits. The extra shows the source material we had in abundance - and captions included "oh no, not George McKinney's overhead smash", "my feet love to dance", and "we love Malcolm Butterworth's Modern Educational Gymnastics" - all very harmless, but it kept us entertained!
Anyway - when the cartoons disappeared each week we thought they had been taken down in disapproval - but when we had our end-of-year do at George McKinney's house, there they were in the kid's room - he had been entertained by them all year too, but hadn't worked out who was drawing them...
I still have a secret stash of Snoopy cuddly toys which mostly stay in a drawer these days!
( My other guilty secret is that I like some of Barry Manilow's music ).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.