Will Ye Go, Lassie, Go?

Yesterday D came down the hill behind our house with a handful of blueberries which he had carefully carried all the way for me. He said "You should go up there while the heather is out, it's like a mini-forest."
So this morning after breakfast I put on my walking shoes and set off up the track and over the fields to the top of the hill. the very last field was a brilliant purple, a springy cushion of sweet-smelling heather, alive with bees. I lay down and enjoyed the warm sunshine, watching the crows and buzzards and taking in the view across the Solway to the lake District hills.
This is the view down the Cluden valley towards Dumfries. Our house is hidden by the hill.
I didn't find any blueberries. I think yesterday's haul was the last precious few.
Listen to this while you look at the photo...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.