Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

02

I was rudely awoken by the sound of rain and it continued to pour down for hours.  What a miserable bank holiday!  I felt quite tempted to stay in, but I'd read that the Tall Ships that had visited Greenwich over the last few days, were leaving at 2 p.m., so I thought I'd go round to the river to wave goodbye (though I hadn't actually said 'hello'...as I hadn't bothered to have a look at them this year, forgetting they were there, until I'd heard their horns and the loud fireworks they'd been letting off for three nights.

Nothing much was happening at the pier at 2 p.m. and I waited in the rain for a while, but decided to go for a walk along the river to the 02 and the ships were sailing by, by the time I reached there. 

I'm going to scale the 02 next weekend with my sister and family, so I wanted to have another look, close-up, to see how scary it might be!  It actually doesn't look very high at all close-up and the people climbing it today had smiley heads, when I zoomed in on them.  Hope the weather is better next weekend than it has been today though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.