weewilkie

By weewilkie

wild geranium walk

Sunday in my friends' back yard. The sun was there, bells and birdsong  thirled the air. A family of swallows drew busy parabolas above, behind and beyond the garden walls. We were trying to decide where we would go for a walk, what distance and terrain I could handle.

A walk following the river Tyne to Corbridge was decided upon. And so off we went...

I knew it would be special when my fingertips were tingling from popping Himalayan balsam pods just as we descended to the river path. All it took was a slight pressure on them and the burst their seeds in micro spectacular fashion. I did it five times, like a big wean.

I decided to carry my crutch on the soft uneven path. I was a bit wary and walked slower than normal but it was fine. I was able to see the sparkling blue of a kingfisher skite across the river in a loop. Eat some tart blackberries. Wander and wonder among the wildflowers. Pass ancient Roman bridge remains. Try to catch sight of a salmon leap but all we were left with was a splash in our ears and taunting ringlets of water where the fish had been.
I crouched to photograph the geraniums pictured and almost did myself an injury with the stress I put on my leg, but it was fine. We made it to Corbridge and had a welcome pint in the beer garden, as the sun had decided to shine on us the whole time.

Back at the house, in the evening, my friend made a spinach and mushroom pie from scratch and we watched the sunset and hundreds of jackdaws fly overhead to their roost from his attic window.

Ah these places my legs can carry me to again.  (Did I mention eating cherries straight from a tree in the countryside?)

Just sublime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.