SeaThreePeeO

By seathreepeeo

Tiny Tuesday: One Giant Leap

"By leaving behind your old self and taking a leap of faith into the unknown, you find out what you are truly capable of becoming."

Tiny Tuesday is hosted this month by 60plus

Facebook reminded me yesterday that a year ago I was waging war with myself.  After suffering the death of my grandmother and the awful behaviour of relatives, whether intentional or through their own grief, the sudden death of my dog Shen in my arms tipped me into the depths of depression.

I fell and I fell hard. 

The doctor put me on strong anti-depressants and sleeping tablets.  Neither of which did anything to improve my mood.  I would wake up everyday crushed I hadn't died in my sleep and spend the day auto piloting what felt like an empty shell of myself.  I stopped taking pictures, stopped blipping, stopped caring.

Eventually I cut all the negative things and people out of my life.  I stopped taking the tablets and relied of the fact that there was a light at the end of the tunnel.

I don't think I'm quite out of the tunnel yet, but I'm having to shield my eyes from the glare.  I won't ever be the same person that stepped into that tunnel, but this new person isn't that bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.