kwchas

By kwchas

Gorse Stacks

I'll be the first to admit that this isn't a very interesting photo but I'm hoping it will become a bit more meaningful next year.

I liked the two comparison photos I did on November 28th 2014 and August 14th 2015 and my idea was to do something similar in another area of Chester that is being developed. 

Gorse Stacks used to be the site of the cattle market until the mid 1960s when it was demolished to make way for the inner ring road with the remainder of the area being converted to a car park. Yesterday the car park closed as the first stage in a development programme which will see a new bus station built on the site.

The whole junction is an eyesore so I can only think it will be an improvement on what is there now. The car park is on the other side of the road and in the background to the left is the Ship Victory which I blipped on January 9th 2015 and this will be demolished very shortly. 

It will be interesting to see how this before and after works but you will have to follow me until November 2016 to see the result. I think that is when the new bus station is scheduled to open.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.