fs2012

By FrankS

Monday

It was a fairly good day today, weatherwise. Almost summerlike, warm, sunny - it won't last.

The morning was taken up with essentials, weekly shopping and then over to Homebase to buy a new toilet seat. Now we are by no means large, nor particularly clumsy, but we seem to get through toilet seats at a rate of knots that would keep the Grecian economy going if they manufactured them! It's a mystery.

This afternoon I was at the Shop for Amazon listing. Unfortunately the cupboard had been cleared of dross (a job that needed doing) but not re-stocked with much at all for putting on the Internet. So I listed what I could and filled in the rest of my time fiddling with my new phone and taking photos of books. (The nice thing about being a volunteer is that you don't feel guilty if you're not pulling your weight 100% of the time at work).

I was scrabbling around under the shelf looking for a power point to charge my phone when I came across the subject of today's photo - a Psion PDA. Now I'm not sure when these date back to, must be a little while, certainly before the onset of smart phones and tablet computers. I was very impressed with the build which was very sturdy and once folded away would withstand a bit of knocking around. Unfortunately the battery needed replacing so I couldn't switch it on and try it. It included email and internet though the screen was monochrome. I suspect it will remain kicking around in the stock room for a while before someone decides to scrap it.

Update: after a quick search in the 'font of all knowledge' I came across this - Psion Series 5.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.