Happy Birthday Lizzie!

I hope BlipCentral will forgive me for using a photograph not taken today, but it is her birthday after all, so I thought it might be a special occasion to blip one of her kitten pictures taken when I first got her.

Lizzie is six years old now and has been with me since she was barely six weeks old. She was rescued from certain death by a young man to whom I will always be grateful, not just because I love Lizzie but because I need to know from time to time that there are people who will do kind things for animals when they don't need to and when you least expect it.

Lizzie was starving because she had some kind of a kink in her esophagus which kept food from getting into her stomach. She had to be hand fed and, this is the cute part, picked up under her little paw-pits and dangled until the kink straightened out and she burped so the food could get into her stomach. She weighed 1.4 pounds so dangling was no problem. 

For several weeks she dangled and burped until, as her vet hoped, the kink straightened out all by itself and she started to gain weight. She hasn't stopped yet and now weighs about 20 pounds. We're trying to diet but the theory is that once having been starved, Lizzie's system treats food differently and she's probably always going to be a plus-size girl. 


I hope nobody minds the above repeat of Lizzie's story posted about three years ago, but it's even more special now that she has survived and thrived.  Maybe there's been a little too much thriving because she's still a plus-size girl, and diabetic to boot, so we do have some problems, but we have plans that may change things in the near future.  Keep your paws crossed.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.