There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Getting Ready to Set Sail

On Sunday, we went for a swim at Bald Eagle State Park. There were lots of families out and about: good smells from cookouts and family reunions everywhere; people swimming and sailing boats on the lake.

The people that you see getting ready to board the sailboat are not anybody I know; I just thought the striped boat was a nice, fresh burst of color for the eyes. You can also see several children kayaking near shore.

There was what looked to me like a group of international students (probably from a local university) enjoying a picnic just behind us.

It was sunny and quite breezy, and the water was very choppy, a bit difficult for swimming. I kept getting little waves in my eyes, nose, ears, and mouth. "Small craft warning!" I joked to my husband, as I eventually gave up and headed back to shore.

It was also possibly a bit challenging for boating, as one of the canoes tipped over right in front of us, sending several individuals - laughing and screaming - into the drink! Fortunately they tipped it close to shore, in a place shallow enough where their feet could touch bottom. And so they stood up, righted their canoe, laughed some more, climbed in, and kept on sailing. That's the spirit!

Here's a little music to sail by: a link to Christopher Cross's song, Sailing, on YouTube.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.