Lenna Glackens

Yesterday I got immersed working on my website and especially adding to the page I've written on my great uncle, the American Impressionist William Glackens. Check out that link!  

I'm named after his daughter, Lenna Glackens, who was named after her grandmother on her mother's side. Her mother, Edith Dimock was the sister of my grandfather, Stanley Dimock, and his adopted daughter is my mother! 

Art was always celebrated in my family - Edith & Lenna were artists as well as Lenna's brother Ira, who was a writer. I was lucky to meet him when I was a teenager and own a good many of his books, a number of them about his father and his art.  This collage shares some of the paintings my great uncle did of his daughter, Lenna. I am happy to say, the one in the middle with a gold frame hangs in my home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.