September 1 Morning Forecast: Damp and Webby

This is the best time of year for spider webs. You know the kind I mean. The big ones that you find on a late summer morning, draped from thing to thing.

I found this beauty on my morning drive to work. In fact, I found several. The fields are full of them, and the webs catch the light, sparkling and shining like lanterns.

I do not know what kind of spider made this web, but the orb weavers do go crazy this time of year. So perhaps that is who the artist is. I cannot confirm it, but I can admire its work.

Clearly, great attention to detail was paid to the task of making this web. And there is a long line down the middle of it, full of fat insect bodies, carefully wrapped; the larder is full.

I was almost at a loss as to what song to use for this shot, as I was looking for something about webs or spiders. But then I realized that web gives me Webber, as in Andrew Lloyd . . . And then suddenly my cup runneth over, as they say, with possibilities.

There are so many good choices, but let's go with this one, which is a favorite of mine. If you wake up at 3 or 4 in the morning with worries, it's a good little tune to sing to yourself to get back to sleep. Here is Everything's Alright, from Jesus Christ Superstar.

Try not to get worried
Try not to turn on to problems that upset you
Oh, don't you know everything's alright?
Yes, everything's fine

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.