walk a mile in someone else's shoes

yesterday there was no blip as both me and little un were tired and cranky...so by the end of the day I had no energy to write anything...

Today was better and we've been getting on really well with lots of laughs and play... It was especially funny when little un was trying on my shoes and staggering  around the house in them... We also had our first trip out in the car with it being just the two of us...and that went pretty well... then she had a big lunch which delighted me, and then we popped round to the crumblies for a cuppa whilst she napped, followed by the play park

The down side of today was this afternoon when we had a showdown about leaving  the park,  and  after negotiation I had to pick her up to take her home, at this point she scratched me in the face... It's not the first time she's done this, and it really upsets me... from a rational perspective, and putting myself in her shoes,  this is her way of expressing frustration and asserting herself... it's also supposed to be a good sign of the attachment process... apparently when adopted kids start behaving like ratbags, it's because they're testing you, and also the fact the she only scratches me is supposed to be a good sign that she is starting to realise that she can express herself fully and that I'm not going to leave her or stop loving her...  However I do find it difficult to deal with especially as her nails are like little toxic, razorblades, so I'm hoping that we can both get some sleep tonight and start over in the morning... ( the nail trimmers might also be on the agenda for tomorrow) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.