Meanwhile, at the coast..

By meancoast

Ferry, cross the.......

......Tyne circa 1962.....I found a folder of old photos hidden away somewhere silly on an external hard drive  yesterday (I really should sort out 'file structures' or whatever they're called!), this is one of them.....I would have been 10 or 11 when I took it (probably with a Brownie 44a). At that time the 'Market Place Ferry', running between North and South Shields, carried cars, but traffic almost completely stopped after the Tyne Tunnel was built/opened in 1967 a couple of miles upriver.....the last of the 3 car-carrying ferries was withdrawn in 1972 and replaced with smaller 'foot passenger only' vessels......OK, Geordie history lesson over, class dismissed......NO RUNNING IN THE CORRIDORS!!!

'Tis wet out.........the perfect excuse for catching up with last nights GBBO......like I need one!

PS: Hard facts gleaned from this website.....I had to look them up;-)

Big River

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.