Giant caterpillar!

On my morning walk along the river I came across this enormous privet hawk-moth caterpillar, almost as long as my hand. It must be pretty much full grown and will soon be ready to form its chrysalis. 

In the afternoon Ben and I went to Stamford, to familiarise him with the layout of the town before he starts college tomorrow. We enjoyed some time in a coffee shop, ascertained all the best hostelries and places to get lunch and wandered round the streets, which are full of honey-coloured stone buildings. 

All was going well until I tripped on some steps at the end of a narrow alley and fell rather spectacularly, banging my left knee and shin very hard. For a few moments I couldn't walk, so we had to stare into a bookshop window while the pain eased. My leg now has a rather nasty bruise, but luckily I seem to have strong bones and I don't think there's any serious damage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.