Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Move, move, move!

porte saint denis
miracles
hold a busy court

This is one of my lunchbreak photo hunting grounds. I don't visit very often, or rather I haven't visited it of late. The street leading to the Porte Saint Denis, and the base of the arch itself, are a place where homeless people gather, hence my mention of the court of miracles.

While roaming the streets, I listened to a podcast of a weekly radio show called Regardez voir ("Look see!") about Bruno Boudjelal. Not only was he very interesting to listen to, as he explained why he'd gone to Algeria, the country of his ancestors, to bear witness to what was happening there in the nineties, but another strong point for me is that he made me that little bit less awkward about the way I shoot street photos. He, too, is always on the move and guess-frames.

One of the musical interludes during the show was Quitter la ville (Leaving Town), by Rone and François Marry (of Frànçois and the Atlas Mountains fame, French fame at least!). The song is beautiful and the video is well worth a look.

Will you find this is worth a look too?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.