variations

I managed to get in slightly earlier than recently this morning to try and bag a suitable desk in our new hot-desking floor and in anticipation of there being some issues regarding the installation of software and drivers, which duly appeared. What I had not been anticipating was the workaround employed by the premises department in order to achieve raised desks in the positions specified by TFP on his workstation-specific-software-distribution desk plan. Usually desks are raised by the legs being telescoped slightly and bolted at a different height. For some reason, the desk I chose had been raised two inches by having four chunks of wood stuck underneath the desk feet, held on by zip-ties threaded through holes drilled in the wood. It's not the most stable thing I've ever sat at and it was wobbling noticeably in the afternoon when a man having a meeting with the person sitting to my left kept impertinently jiggling his elbow as he rested it on the corner. I shall call it in tomorrow after taking a photo with my proper camera rather than just my phone, assuming I can get the same desk. I know we're supposed to be hot-desking but I really don't want to have to spent forty minutes pissing about installing drivers every day until all the suitably-software-licensed raised desks are suitably homogeneous of drivers and data sources.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.