Now I've seen it all

On Tuesday, after I’d slept on it, I wrote an email to the police in Otley about the road rage incident on my bike, telling them what happened. The next day I received a really positive email asking if I’d like a police officer to have a word with the man in question but keeping me out of it.  I did.  It had shaken me up.

Today, a different police officer got in touch and said that before he'd bothered to check the registration plate, he was almost 100% sure about who it was going to be.  And he wasn’t wrong.   The young man in question is known to them including for his attitude and he’d been on the receiving end of it too.  They are going to follow it up and will keep me posted but given he’s not of a permanent address, it may be a while.   He said, absolutely, I did the right thing telling them because it helps to build a picture of people like him, even if there has been no criminal offence.  

So, that felt better.

I then went out on my bike and had a great ride despite the scattered raindrops.  I’ve added leggings and a jacket and they were much needed today.  I’ve had my eye on this tree for a while but it needed a bit of mixed weather to set it off.  Roll on autumn!

On the way back, I was coming along the main road to our roundabout, checking over my shoulder for cars.  I waited until there was a decent gap and indicated and pulled out to turn right.  As I was pulling out, I was checking over my shoulder and the rather delightful older gentleman in the sporty Merc behind looked like he was creeping out to overtake.  He was on the other side of the road as we were pretty much on the roundabout. Realising eventually that he couldn’t get past, he pulled back in and tooted at me.  I gave a glare as he went straight across at the roundabout on my inside.  Behind me, I heard another biker say, “Now, I’ve seen it all!”  He was just behind the car and had watched it all.  I double checked he didn’t think I’d made a mistake but he said absolutely not; there was plenty of space, I was really clear with my intentions and I wasn’t pulling out too early nor too slowly.

So that felt better too.

My legs felt speedy on the way back - maybe it’s the cooler air (or perhaps just the tailwind!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.