WeeSis

By WeeSis

...from little acorns grow

I'm not ashamed to admit that I'm a treehugger. I mean, I don't actually hug a tree very often, but I've loved them for as long as I can remember. When I was little I loved the rowan trees at my grandparent's house. I was fascinated by the red berries and the birds that they attracted.

As a kid, I had a penny bank on which was written "Large oaks from little acorns grow". After many explanations, I understood what that meant, but I still failed to see the connection between oak trees and coin saving.

Now that I'm a native of Kansas, I'm allowed to appreciate the oak trees around me (there are rather a lot of them) every day. What could be nicer than the view looking up through their leaves and branches at the sky? I think trees are amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.